STEAMBOAT SPRINGS, CO-February 10, 2015-The Steamboat Ski & Resort Corporation will present the 2015 Hazie Werner Award for Excellence to long-time Steamboat Springs’ resident, Nancy Kramer, during a reception at the Steamboat Grand on Monday evening, February 23, 2015.

“Nancy has focused her professional career across a wide spectrum of areas throughout the Yampa Valley and northwest Colorado that spans cultural, business, civic and nonprofit interests,” said Chris Diamond, president and chief operating officer of the Steamboat Ski & Resort Corporation. “Through all her community giving, activism and personal determination, Nancy embodies the can-do spirit and personal characteristics that Hazie Werner held high during her lifetime.”

Nancy Kramer will become the 27th woman honored with the Hazie Werner Award for Excellence. Currently, Kramer serves as program coordinator for the Northwest Colorado Cultural Heritage Program and Northwest Colorado Products. Bringing with her a deep-rooted commitment and love of the Yampa Valley, she has served on City Council for the Town of Steamboat Springs, directed the Steamboat Springs Arts Council, worked in health services, operated a popular restaurant business, supports the 10th Mountain Division and chaired numerous community event committees and giving programs.

A transplanted Oregonian, Kramer arrived in Steamboat Springs in 1974 as a registered nurse working at Routt Memorial Hospital before moving up to supervisor of the surgical department. In 1980, she went to work for the Northwest Colorado Visiting Nurses Association as a school and public health nurse. In 1982, taste buds rejoiced when the In-Season Bakery Café opened and quickly became known for its mouth-watering cheesecakes. After selling the business, Kramer returned to her career in surgical nursing and healthcare administration.

The Steamboat Springs Arts Council hired Kramer as the executive director in 1993 bringing her leadership and inspiration to 30+ affiliate arts and cultural organizations. From 2001-05, she shared her non-profit expertise while serving on City Council to increase public sector support for regional non-profit organizations. For the past 7 years, Kramer’s attention has come back to her cultural heritage roots, working as program coordinator for both the Northwest Colorado Cultural Heritage Program and the Community Agriculture Alliance’s Northwest Colorado Products, promoting the authentic experiences, products, places and stories of Northwest Colorado and its historic, cultural and natural resources.

“Never one to ask for recognition, Nancy cares about making a difference for the betterment of this valley and the individuals who reside here,” said Diane Moore, executive director of Advocates Building Peaceful Communities and 2010 Hazie Werner Award recipent. “She is tireless in her efforts to give back and continues to excel because of a kind and big heart.”

A reception will take place from 5:00pm-7:00pm on Monday, February 23 at the Steamboat Grand’s Mountain View Foyer. This award, which began in 1989, is named after Hazie Werner, a local legend in the Yampa Valley for her inspirational dedication, gracious and care-giving philosophy, volunteer work and tireless commitment to a multitude of children, families and organizations. The Hazie Werner Award reception coincides with Hazie Werner’s birthday (2/23/1911).

The Hazie Werner Award for Excellence was established 27 years ago by the Steamboat Ski & Resort Corporation to pay tribute to a woman who, through the pursuit of personal goals, has achieved a standard of excellence in her field. Previous recipients include: Skeeter Werner Walker, Katy Rodolph Wyatt, Eleanor Bliss, Carol Baily, Lucile Bogue, Criss Fetcher, Dorothy Wither (posthumously), Sureva Towler, Rita Valentine (posthumously), Geneva Taylor, Carol Schaffer, Gloria Gossard, Jayne Hill, Elaine Gay, Millie Beall, Arianthe Stettner, Wanda Redmond, Margi Briggs-Casson, Margaret ”Poogie” Dawes (posthumously), Nancy Stahoviak, Carol Booth Fox, Diane Moore, Susan E. Birch, Christine Painter, Marsha Daughenbaugh and Sarah Floyd.

-Happy Trails®-